The Arkansas River Trail

Everybody needs a new toy once in a while just to keep life interresting. My new toy for the last month or so has been my bicycle, and I have really been enjoying it. 

I haven’t been doing a lot of cardio  exercise since my last 5K in February since I started having some nerve issues. As a person diagnosed with  Multiple Sclerosis, I decided to take it easier for a while. But thanks to my new toy I’ve been more active. 

I can’t go like the youngsters at the bike club, but I can still go and have fun. I also have a new app on my phone that makes it all more interresting. It keeps track of my miles and my elevation. It even records my efforts and speed. Cool right? Well, I think it’s cool. 

I’ve been hearing about a bike trail in downtown Little Rock that goes on both sides of the river from between interstates 440 and 30. So Tuesday my son and I decided to meet in Little Rock and go for a little bike ride. We started over in Two Rivers Park, which made the trip about 25 miles. There were places where the trial had to be shared with other traffic, but most of the time in was just pedestrians and bicycles with made it nice. We crossed three bridge altogether, and all three were bridges were devoted to foot and bicycle traffic. 

This is a picture of my son as we were going over the bridge from Two Rivers Park. He was smart enough to bring a helmet and sunglasses. Me, on the other hand, I brought a helmet and sun glasses, but they were still in the truck when my wife drove off to take our granddaughter to the zoo. 
The picture below is of the Big Dam Bridge which is the biggest bridge devoted to foot traffic and bicycles. It was really something to see. 

This is me on the bridge looking over the river. 

Parts of the trail were under construction, and I think some are still under water from all the rain we’ve been getting. Still it was a very nice ride. 

The next two pictures are from the third bridge located just west of I-30

On the other side of the bridge is the Clinton Memorial Library. We stopped there just long enough to take pictures in front of the big bugs out front. 

Downtown Little Rock has got a lot of construction going on which includes the bicycle path. So we had to find find our way around at times and travel on some very busy streets, but we made it through okay till we were back on the path again. 

Altogether my son and rode 30 miles before we put up our bicycles for the day. Both of us were a little sunburned and tired, but inspired at the same time. Where will we go next? I don’t know. But riding a bicycle is a whole lot funnier than running, and I plan on doing much more this summer.  

About Ken Sayers

I'm currently employed by a children's home where my wife and I care for a cottage of girls who have been displaced from their families. I'm a middle age man with two grown children of my own and one grandchild. I have worked as a United States Marine, a youth minister, a preacher, a childcare worker, and a truck driver. My hobbies include photography, horses, playing guitar, writing, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Family, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

