When Things Go Right

It’s been over twenty years since we discovered Peti Jean State Park. We were living in Wynne, AR at the time. It wasn’t long after Caleb was born, and over the years this park has become a very special place for my family. When the kids were small I used to carry them both on the trails. I have all sorts of pictures and even videos of the kids playing in the water fall. I truly love this place. I never dreamed that I would live only about 20 minutes away, but I do. It is truly an awe inspiring place. Mena, has some very pretty areas, but Peti Jean is the prettiest area of the state as far as I have seen.

I have seen some breath taking sunsets from this spot. This one wasn’t the best, but still nice.

This is the area around what is called the gravesite. It is beautful. This deck has been put up since we first began coming here.

There was a lot of teenagers here that walked up from the Christian camp just up the road.

I don’t remember if we ever was able to bring Rascal up here before, but he was in doggy heaven.

Even dogs love Peti Jean


It’s hard to believe how quickly things have changed for Paula and I. Moving and changing jobs can be very stressful. Paula had to say goodbye to some great friends at the hospital. They are having a difficult time without her. Me, on the other hand, I couldn’t be happier to say goodbye to the job I had. I feel like I have been sprung from prison and given a new lease on life. I have a great respect for those who sacrifice their personal lives and endure long and lonly hours of driving the good America needs from one place to the other. However, I am forever grateful that I no longer have make my living in that way now.

Paula and I are once again back together. We eat together, sleep together, go for walks together. It’s like we are starting all over again. We have a nice place to live and wonderful people to work with. We now have a huge front porch with several rocking chairs. There is a beautiful rose garden not far from the front of my house. It’s kind of like a honeymoon all over again. The dog is also glad to have me back. So much we used to take for granted, now we just hope we won’t be separated again.

About Ken Sayers

I'm currently employed by a children's home where my wife and I care for a cottage of girls who have been displaced from their families. I'm a middle age man with two grown children of my own and one grandchild. I have worked as a United States Marine, a youth minister, a preacher, a childcare worker, and a truck driver. My hobbies include photography, horses, playing guitar, writing, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

