Foundations and Purposes

I believe in God. I don’t know if there is a God, I have read Richard Dawkin’s book, The God Delusion. I have to admit he makes some very valid points, and I share many of his concerns. I have also read many books from the theist point of view with all the evidence supporting the position a creator. The strongest argument for a creator is creation itself and it’s indisputable vastness and design. One thing I am convinced of thus far is  that I don’t know. I don’t think we can know. This is a matter of faith, we all seem to want to gather evidence for what believe and I see nothing wrong with that, but the fact remains: I DON’T KNOW. I choose to believe in God. I have looked at the evidence on both sides and will continue, but the main reason I believe in God is because I want to believe in God. I want to believe their is a higher purpose in life, and there there is a creator loves me and guides me.

I believe in the Bible as God’s instruction for living. I have no way of knowing with certainty if the Bible is truly from God. I have read through Bart D. Ehrman’s book, “Misquoting Jesus: The Story behind Who Changed the Bible and Why.” and I have read “The Zealot: The Life and Times of Jesus of Nazareth,” by  Reza Aslan. Both of which are best selling books which challenge the integrity of Scripture. Both authors make some very valid points that must be recognized. But I remain convinced that the Bible is still the best source for discovering Jesus, who he is and what he taught. Once again it is a matter of choice, and a choose to look to the Bible as a source for discovering God’s will for my life

Since I believe in God and the Bible, I also believe in Jesus as savior and lord. I have spent most of my adult life seeking Jesus and trying to understand and apply the biblical message to the best of my ability. There are a lot of ambiguities contained in the Bible that people focus on and fight about, but I believe the main purposes for our lives can be summed up from two sections of Scripture known as “The Great Commandment (Mt. 22:37-40) and The Great Commision (Mt. 28:19-20).

Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.

Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.

From these two passages I derive at 5 purposes for my life:

  1. Love God with all my emotions, intellect, and ability.
  2. Love others as I love myself
  3. I must be baptized enacting elements of the gospel in my life (Rom. 6:3-6). This begins the new life (Jn. 3:3, 5) in a new family, the church.
  4. I must continue maturing through study and service.
  5. I must take the message to others.

I think all the instructions in the New Testament comes down to these 5 main purposes. They compromise the focus of my life.

About Ken Sayers

I'm currently employed by a children's home where my wife and I care for a cottage of girls who have been displaced from their families. I'm a middle age man with two grown children of my own and one grandchild. I have worked as a United States Marine, a youth minister, a preacher, a childcare worker, and a truck driver. My hobbies include photography, horses, playing guitar, writing, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

